‘Buddha: A Study in Gold,’ Rick Allen

From NJARTS.net

Def Leppard is not currently on tour, but the veteran rock band’s drummer, Rick Allen, will be in New Jersey this weekend. He’ll be making an appearance at the Wentworth Gallery at the Mall at Short Hills, where his artwork is currently on display.

The exhibition is titled “Rick Allen: Angels and Icons,” and it includes 45 mixed media originals featuring his photography, light art and painting. One example, “Buddha: A Study in Gold,” is shown above.

Allen will appear at the gallery from 5 to 8 p.m. Saturday; a portion of each sale will go to Project Resiliency’s Warrior Resiliency Program, described on its web site as “An innovative healing program for veterans, active duty military, and their families that address the everyday stress, anxiety and depression experienced by service men and women and their families.”

Visit wentworthgallery.com for information.

Art of the Day is a series of posts, each focusing on one work of art on display at a museum, gallery or other exhibition space in New Jersey. These will appear daily, though not on weekends and holidays. To suggest works of art to feature, please email njartsdaily@gmail.com.


Scenefour – Rhythm on Canvas

For decades, the movement and approach of fine artists has been studied and compared to rhythm.  Most notably Jackson Pollock’s abstract work in the 1950s showcased “rhythmic nature” in relation to his splattering of paint on canvas and the patterns produced.

In 2009, SceneFour set in motion a plan to begin working in the “mindset” of rhythm.  The project would begin with picking 10 drummers to establish and pioneer a new medium dubbed “rhythm-on-canvas.” Using drumsticks that lit with various colors, patterns, speeds and temperatures, the drummers would construct rhythms that would translate to abstract artwork eventually to be laid to canvas.  These works would showcase the individual drummers’ speed, technique, style, and creativity.

The 10 drummers would be part of an assembly called “The Art of Drums Project.” From 2009 to 2013, 10 collections were created and released.  A new medium was born and established with collections selling at breakneck speed and galleries around the country showcasing the work.

The medium continues in 2014 with SceneFour’s abstract work with the best living drummers, breaking traditions and redefining rhythm and fine art.



Coming 11.21.14

A new medium in art. A movement led by the greatest drummers alive. Dave Lombardo is underway with art team SceneFour on the creation of an art collection built from the new medium of rhythm-on-canvas. Lombardo’s collection will explore his most notable drum performances and how they translate into visual art.

Get exclusive information on the release date, the process involved and the opportunity to see the work before it’s unveiled publicly by joining the interest list below.